The most surprising vegan and non-vegan products revealedPublished on January 13, 2021 5 min read
With veganism on the rise, people are realizing that to avoid animal byproducts completely they need to change more than just their diet. As crafters we’re seeking sustainable craft projects, and we’re searching for plant-based yarns like never before!
With this in mind, we’ve had a look at the most surprising vegan and non-vegan products out there. We also take a look at the funny things people are Googling - hint, there’s a lot of people still very confused about exactly what it means to be a vegan.
Here are 13 of the most surprising non-vegan products, and 10 of the most surprising vegan products:
The most surprising non-vegan products
While denim itself is vegan friendly, the patch on the back of a pair can sometimes be made from real leather.
Some common tattoo inks still use ingredients derived from animals such as bone char or glycerine. Stencil paper can also be made from lanolin, which is derived from sheep’s wool.
While vegan-friendly paint is available, the capsule that contains the paint is commonly made using gelatin.
Some consider figs as non-vegan due to the fact when female pollinator wasps lay their eggs inside a fig flower, the process kills the wasp and the fig digests it.
5. Beer and wine
While some of the bigger brands have now switched to vegan friendly production, a lot of beer and wine is still produced using animal products such as isinglass (fish bladders). Major producers including Budweiser and Miller have now begun switching to vegan friendly methods of production.
This luxurious smooth fabric can be used in all types of clothing from pajamas to jacket linings, yet many forget that it is produced by silkworms, which are a type of caterpillar and often have to be killed before breaking free of their cocoons as moths in order to get the best silk.
7. Red foods, clothes and lipstick
This may sound like a strange one, but a common form of natural red dye comes from cochineals, which are a type of insect that are farmed by the billions in South America.
Certain crayons are derived from stearic acid (processed animal fat) and this is used to give them a waxy consistency and also gives them that distinctive smell.
9. Dryer sheets and fabric softeners
Dryer sheets and softeners tend to come with a long list of complicated chemical ingredients which can include rendered fats from animals.
10. Veggie burgers
While these will definitely be meat-free, a lot of veggie burgers will use ingredients such as eggs or dairy in the production process.
11. Padded jackets (and pillows)
While padding in items such as jackets and pillows can be done synthetically now, feather and down padding is still preferred by many. It is always worth checking the label in these cases to see if it contains any animal products.
12. Refried beans
Commonly used as an alternative to meat in Mexican dishes, these beans are sometimes flavored with lard.
13. Soy based yogurts
Some soy-based yogurts can contain a milk-based protein, casein.
The most surprising vegan products
1. Chicken-flavored instant noodles
Certain packs of chicken or beef flavored noodles don’t contain any meat products and are vegan friendly
2. Hot Chocolate
While most chocolate contains dairy ingredients, most cacao powder can be enjoyed dairy-free by mixing it with non-dairy milks.
While some yarn is made from animal fibers - sheep’s wool, alpaca and mohair for example, there are plenty of plant-based options, including cotton, bamboo and banana tree husks. LoveCrafts has compiled a roundup of the best plant-based yarns available.
4. Bacon potato chips
Meat flavored potato chips such as smoky bacon and roast chicken, often just contain flavorings which resemble meat and do not contain any animal products.
Despite looking like they have a creamy center, Oreo biscuits do not contain any dairy products and are completely vegan, great for vegan baking!
Traditionally, watch straps have always been made from leather, however there’s lots of alternatives now for vegan watches with straps made from alternative materials such as pineapples!
If you’re making fresh pasta, eggs are often used in the recipe, however the majority of shop-bought pastas are completely suitable for vegans.
8. Duncan Hines’ whipped frosting
This easy-spread favorite is often paired with cakes and brownies and its chocolate, vanilla and fluffy white flavors are all vegan
9. Pillsbury Crescent Rolls
With their buttery taste, it is easy to assume they contain dairy products, however all the flavor comes from vegan friendly ingredients
10. Cream crackers
It may sound like these crackers feature dairy products, but they are actually vegan friendly.
To further highlight how confused veganism is to some people we took a look at Google Search data to see what some of the most common queries were that people have been asking the search engine. Here are ten of the most surprising searches that come out on top on Google:
The top 10 most surprising vegan-related search queries
1. Can vegans eat eggs?
2. Is it vegan to have a pet?
3. What do vegans feed their dogs?
4. Can vegans eat honey?
5. Is horse riding vegan?
6. Is it vegan to kill bugs?
7. Can vegans eat honey?
8. What milk is vegan?
9. Is it vegan to smoke?
10. What is vegan cheese made of?
“With veganism on the rise, we’ve seen an increase in makers searching for vegan-friendly craft materials. There’s a lot of genuine surprise there are so many plant-based yarns to choose from, and knitting isn’t just about wool! Veganuary is the perfect time for people to experiment with new materials, without giving up the things they enjoy.”